//
you're reading...
Sports

Be Warned: Wayne’s not for sale! Says New Man U Boss, Moyes

David Moyes has vowed that Wayne Rooney will not be sold by Manchester United.

The new Old Trafford boss faced the media on Friday for the first time since he was confirmed as Sir Alex Ferguson’s successor almost two months ago, and inevitably faced a barrage of questions about the unsettled England striker.

Moyes stopped short of confirming that Rooney – who is understood to have told Ferguson that he wants to leave towards the end of last season – has changed his mind, but insisted that he will be staying at the club.

He also revealed that Ferguson invited him to his house in Cheshire and effectively told him that he would be his successor.

‘It was a strange situation,’ he added. ‘I had no idea whatsoever. I knew nothing until ir Alex Ferguson gave me a call and asked me to come to his house. I was expecting him to say he was taking one of my players at Everton.

‘But the first thing he said was “I’m retiring”. I asked when and he said “next week!”. His next words were, “You’re the next Manchester United manager”. I didn’t get a chance to say yes or no. I was told I was the next United manager and that was enough.

‘I was incredibly privileged but it was more shock. The blood drained from my face. But I always hoped I would be a consideration.’

Moyes acknowledged the challenge he faces to maintain the success Ferguson brought to Old Trafford, and admitted that it will e impossible to replicate.

But he insisted that he will do things his own way and not be intimidated by his fellow Scot staying on as a director and club ambassador.

‘I’m looking forward to him sitting behind me in the director’s box,’ said Moyes. ‘I’ve got to say he is someone I will use for advice.

Wayne Rooney, Manchester United when substituted for Welbeck during game against Aston Villa in April

Wayne Rooney, Manchester United when substituted for Welbeck during game against Aston Villa in April


Credits: Daily Mail, Getty Images

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

AkaraBox’s Latest Tweets

