you're reading...

Nigerian Premier League changes name; Releases Opening Fixtures

The Nigerian professional football league is to now be referred to as the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPLF), the Nduka Irabor led-Interim Management Committee (IMC) of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) has announced.

Also, the draws for the 2012/13 season of the NPFL were held on Friday in Abuja with the first round of matches expected to be played on March 9.

Enugu Rangers will host to Enyimba FC in the standout game, while defending champions, Kano Pillars will face Wikki Tourists at the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi. At the Ilorin Township stadium, Abubakar Bukola Saraki (ABS) FC will lock horns with the Kwara United.

Heartland CF of Owerri and the newly promoted Nembe City will slug it out at the the Dan Anyiam Stadium, Owerri just as Sharks FC take on Warri Wolves at the Sharks FC stadium.

The IMC had initially proposed to abridge the season but the clubs kicked against the plan and the 2012/13 campaign will now be played in its regular format with midweek games set to be accommodated into the calendar.

The opening fixtures of the NPFL are listed below.

NPFL opening round fixtures

Rangers vs Enyimba

Wikki vs Pillars

ABS vs Kwara United

Heartland vs Nembe City

Sharks vs Warri Wolves

Nassarawa vs El Kanemi

Akwa United vs Dolphins

Sunshine vs Kaduna United

Bayelsa United vs Lobi Stars

3SC vs Gombe United



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

AkaraBox’s Latest Tweets